Databases / Electronic Resources
Looking for information? News from the past? Car manuals? We subscribe to a number of resources so you can get the information you need.
Encyclopedias / General Reference
- The Canadian Encyclopedia
A standard for Canadian information in English and French.
- General Reference Centre
General interest items, mostly U.S.-based.
- World Book Online
Great encyclopedia for students.
Newspapers / Magazines
- Proquest Databases
Canadian journals and magazines – has back issues of Consumer Reports and the Halifax Daily News.
(on-site access at Central Library only)
Over 4000 titles from around the world including the New York Times, the Guardian, and local newspapers including the Halifax Herald, Daily News, Cape Breton Post, New Glasgow Evening News and Truro Daily News.
- Zinio for Libraries
Browse full color, interactive digital magazines on your desktop, laptop, or mobile devices.
More book recommendations, great for anyone hosting their own book discussion group. Connecting from a university or college campus? Use this link: Novelist
- Business Plans Handbook (eBook edition)
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs. From a variety of industries.
Do It Yourself
Repair manuals for automobiles over the past 30 years. A few older specialty autos too.
- Consumer Reports
- Gardening Magazines
A database specifically devoted to gardening related magazines.
- Health and Wellness Resource Centre
Find information on a variety of topics including fitness, pregnancy, diseases, and prescription drugs. Search Tips (PDF)| Video Tutorial
- Health Reference Centre Academic
Find information on nursing, allied health, and general personal health. Video Tutorial
Find information on the latest treatments, drugs, and supplements. MedlinePlus is the website for the (US) National Institutes of Health. Video Tutorial
Easy-to-use website featuring basic health & wellness information for older adults. Users are able to make the text bigger, change text color, or hear the text read aloud.
- The Cochrane Library
Health information, especially clinical trial summaries.
- Discover: Continuing Education, Community Groups and Programs
Search for courses, clubs, organizations and programs in the Halifax Regional Municipality.
Local History & Genealogy
- Ancestry Library Edition
Available at all library branches. Ancestry Library Edition provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of over 5 billion individuals. Answers await users inside the more than 4,000 databases of family information covering Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom and more.