The Board

The Halifax Regional Library Board is composed of 11 members: 8 members who are appointed by the Halifax Regional Municipality (HRM), 2 members who are appointed by the Province of Nova Scotia, and the Mayor of HRM, who is an ex-officio member.

This team of community-minded leaders provides important oversight, particularly for strategic planning and operational priorities, financial management and reporting, human resources, and community relations. The Board helps us live our values, implement our strategic plan, and achieve our vision for the Library.

The Halifax Regional Library Board is a corporation that governs the Library in accordance with the Nova Scotia Libraries Act, which regulates regional library service in the Province.

Halifax Regional Library Board Bylaws

Contact us

You can contact any member of the Library Board via:
Halifax Public Libraries
Administration Office
60 Alderney Drive
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 4P8
Phone: (902) 490-3991


Kim Brooks

Appointed in February 2019

Kim Brooks is the Purdy Crawford Chair in Business Law at the Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University. Previous to her time at Dalhousie, Kim held faculty positions at McGill, the University of British Columbia, and Queen’s University and has practiced as a tax lawyer with Stikeman Elliot LLP in their Toronto and London (UK) offices.  Kim has served on the Board of Directors for the NSLC, the Canadian Tax Foundation Board of Governors, Canada Health Infoway, and the Institute for Research on Public Policy.   She is a novice surfer, but more likely to sign a book about surfing out from the library than to get into the icy water.

Marika Warren
Chair, Planning and Performance Committee

Appointed in February 2019

Marika Warren is an Assistant Professor in the Dalhousie University Department of Bioethics and in this capacity serves as the Network Ethicist for the Nova Scotia Health Ethics Network.  Marika’s broad research interests focus on how we translate values into practice, and she is excited to engage in and reflect on this process in the context of library governance. Marika has served on a variety of non-profit boards for organizations including the Seminar on the United Nations and International Affairs, the Canadian Bioethics Society, and the South End Community Day Care Centre.  She has broad experience as a volunteer, including with the Children’s Reading Support program at the North End branch. The daughter of a high school librarian, Marika has always been a reader and library enthusiast. Few things make her happier than watching her children, arms often laden with more books than they can carry, as they discover their own reasons to love libraries.

Christian Browne

Appointed in April 2022

Chi Harris

Appointed in April 2022

Linda MacKay
Chair, Finance and Audit Committee

Appointed in February 2020

Councillor Tony Mancini

Appointed in December 2020

Emily Miller

Appointed in May 2020

Emily is a natural connector who works with organizations across the province to help them flourish. Her mission is to build a resilient, vibrant, and collaborative Nova Scotia. She has an eye for design, a passion for civic engagement, and an interest in inclusive development.

Emily is an Associate at NATIONAL Public Relations and has worked with some of Atlantic Canada’s high growth startups as well as leading international organizations, such as The Clinton Foundation, the World Economic Forum, and the G20.

In January 2019, Emily was named one of Youthful Cities "Future City Builders" and participated in their innovation lab to address the cities housing affordability crisis. She has previously been selected as one of 21 Inc’s “Top 40, Under 40 Leaders" and a recipient of the YMCA Peace Medallion. She is a member of the inaugural Venture for Canada Fellowship and The Banff Forum.

Emily is a board member of several civic-focused organizations including the Planning & Design Centre, the Halifax Cycling Coalition, and Springtide Collective. She enjoys practicing yoga, hosting book club meetings, and going for hikes with her NS Duck Toller puppy, Stella.

Councillor Kathryn Morse

Appointed in December 2021

Heather Rose

Appointed in May 2020

Erin Wynn

Appointed in April 2022

Print this page