Read-Alike Series Recommendations: Camino Winds by John Grisham

Welcome back to Camino Island, where anything can happen—even a murder in the midst of a hurricane, which might prove to be the perfect crime. Camino Winds is the sequel to John Grisham’s 2017 novel, Camino Island. A departure from Grisham’s legal thrillers, The Camino Islands series features bookstore owner, Bruce Cable, who lives in the sleepy resort town of Santa Rosa on Camino Island in Florida. Although it's not about lawyers, this series has the fast-paced thrills and suspense that we’ve come to expect from John Grisham.

If you enjoyed this series, here are some suggestions for other book series which you might want to check out.

1. Cotton Malone novels by Steve Berry

Check out the series in our collection

Meet Cotton Malone, a former Justice Department agent-turned antiquarian book dealer who can’t seem to stay out of trouble. He travels the globe unraveling some of history’s most legendary and iconic mysteries. If you love action, secrets, history, conspiracies, and international adventure, Cotton Malone is the one for you. Reading the series in order is not required, as each novel is written to stand on its own. Like the Camino Islands series, this series is suspenseful, plot-driven, and fast-paced.

2. Hester Thursby novels by Edwin J. Hill

Check out the series in our collection

Harvard librarian, Hester Thursby, runs a side business tracking down missing persons. When you think of a librarian doing detective work, you might expect a cozy or traditional mystery. This is not the case. Hester Thursby is an unconventional character, and the two books in this series are suspenseful, compelling, and intricately plotted. The third instalment of the series, Watch Her is scheduled to be released in December 2020.

3. Book Collector mysteries by Victoria Abbott

Check out the series in our collection

Jordan Bingham finds and solves mysteries. As researcher for the reclusive book collector, Vera Van Alst, Jordan finds herself embroiled in mystery and murder. Each book in the series focuses on a different classic mystery writer, including Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers. This cozy mystery series is compelling, engaging and full of great detail.

4. Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown

Check out the series in our collection

Dan Brown’s best known novel in this series is The DaVinci Code, but there are actually five novels in the series. Robert Langdon is a professor of Religious Symbology at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Langdon finds himself in the centre of a historically-based thriller with a mystery to be solved. This series is suspenseful, plot-driven, and fast-paced.


This read-alike was put together with the help of NoveList, another free Library service you can access with your library card. Find fantastic books suggestions based on what you like to read, including thousands of author and title read-alikes for all ages. Happy reading!

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Halifax Public Libraries