Read-Alike Recommendations: The Giver of Stars, by Jojo Moyes

British author, Jojo Moyes, is one of our most popular authors at Halifax Public Libraries. Readers love Moyes’ books for their intricate plots, charming settings and believable female characters. Her latest book, The Giver of Stars, follows a group of women in rural, 1930s Kentucky as they create a new, travelling library. In a small town that frowns upon the establishment of a library, these women fight prejudice and deliver books by horseback to those living in poverty. Based on a true story, there are already plans to turn this book into a movie, opens a new window.

If you enjoyed reading this book and are looking for something similar (or perhaps you’re waiting patiently for your copy from the Library), we’ve put together a list of similar e-book and audiobook titles that you may be interested in.

All of these e-books are available for immediate download (no waitlists!) through hoopla, a resource you can access for free using your library card.

1. Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins by Katarina Bivald, opens a new window

Similar to The Giver of Stars, this book focuses on friendship and community as a group of characters fight prejudice in a small-town in the United States. When Henny Broek dies after being hit by a truck, she ends up sticking around the motel she ran with her best friend. She attends her funeral and watches over her family and friends as they grieve and are left to pick up the pieces after her death. Despite the somewhat dark premise, this is a cozy, heartwarming read filled with love and friendship.

2. The Oysterville Sewing Circle by Susan Wiggs, opens a new window

The Oysterville Sewing Circle explores the lives and relationships of a group of women living in a small town. Caroline Shelby returns home following the death of her best friend, Angelique. The story follows Caroline as she is made guardian of her friend’s two children, reconnects with old friends, and finds romance. When she suspects Angelique was the victim of domestic violence, she starts the Oysterville Sewing Circle as a support group for women facing domestic abuse. The story benefits from strong, believable characters and an intricately plotted storyline. 

3. Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty, opens a new window

Just like Jojo Moyes, Liane Moriarty writes stories with well-developed characters and believable relationships. In Three Wishes, Lyn, Cat and Gemma Kettle are thirty-three year old triplets who seem to attract attention wherever they go. Follow along on their adventures as they deal with sibling rivalry, unfaithful husbands, and unthinkable decisions. This is a great choice if you’re looking for a fast-paced, engaging story that will keep you laughing.

4. The Alice Network by Kate Quinn, opens a new window

If you enjoy historical fiction, The Alice Network follows Charlie St. Clair, post-WWII, as she arrives in London to try and find her cousin after she disappears in Nazi-occupied France during the war. There Charlie meets Eve Gardiner, a former spy, who agrees to help her on her mission. Written with parallel narratives, Quinn writes a richly descriptive story featuring authentic characters. 

5. The Gown by Jennifer Robson, opens a new window

If you’re looking for more historical fiction told from the perspective of women, The Gown offers a family saga set partly in Canada. When Heather is sorting through her grandmother’s possessions after her death, she discovers a box filled with beautiful embroidered fabrics. After some investigating, she finds out her grandmother worked on Queen Elizabeth II’s wedding gown. The novel shifts between Toronto in 2016 and post-WWII London. An intricately plotted story, this book is perfect for fans of The Crown or anyone who enjoys following the Royal Family.

6. Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows by Balli Kaur Jaswal, opens a new window

Just like The Giver of Stars, Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows is a book about women, community, and friendship. When Niki takes a job teaching a creative-writing workshop for Sikh widows at a local community centre, she realizes her students are actually looking to learn basic literacy skills. After one of the widows shares a book of erotic stories, the women delight in sharing their own stories of illicit sexual encounters. A Reese Witherspoon Book Club selection, this fun read was also the subject of a publisher bidding war, opens a new window.


Visit hoopla with your library card to start reading any of these books today. This read-alike was put together with the help of Novelist, another free Library service you can access with your library card. Find fantastic books suggestions based on what you like to read, including thousands of author and title read-alikes for all ages.  Happy reading, everyone!

Did you read one of our recommendations? Let us know your thoughts in the comments!

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Halifax Public Libraries