Spooky Staff Picks

A reading list created by HfxPL_Adults

We love curling up under a warm blanket with a mug of tea and a truly terrifying story. Here are some of our staff members' favourites. Happy hauntings!


House of Leaves is a book that must be read to be believed. A sort of collection of found materials, the book includes text written at strange angles or layered over top of itself, minimal words on some pages, and empty spaces left in the middle of pages. The overall feeling of claustrophobia lends itself well to the horror and psychological terror of the story.

A Nova Scotia classic, Bluenose Ghosts is a collection of spooky stories sure to make you a believe in ghosts and the supernatural. Although you may not have read this Atlantic Canadian favourite, you might know some of the stories and you're sure to recognize some of the haunted locations.

Considered one of the best in the genre of horror graphic novels, Locke & Key explores a mysterious and secretive house that was the site of a brutal murder. If you've read any of Joe Hill's other books, we recommend checking out his first foray into graphic novels.

The Haunting of Hill House is considered by many to be the premier example of supernatural horror thriller, and was recommended by multiple staff members as their favourite spooky read. Recommended for fans eerie, character-driven, horror stories with an element of mystery.

The Changeling is a mix of realism, fantasy, and horror; a little something for everyone. But, ultimately, this menacing and mystical story will leave you asking yourself how well you really know your loved ones.

The Little Stranger is an atmospheric and menacing story with a focus on the characters, and is ideal for someone looking for a historical ghost story. Recommended for fans of Nathaniel Hawthorne, Susan Hill, and Shirley Jackson.

From the creators of the popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes a novel that expands upon the unnerving, uninhabited town of Night Vale. Recommended for readers who like a touch of satire and quirkiness with their horror.

Recommended by a number of staff members, The Winter People is a chilling story of how far people will go to save their loved ones. Perfect for fans of Chris Bohjalian, Cecilia Eckback, and Susan Hill.

Little Star is a creepy and disturbing horror novel with elements of satirism, perfect for fans of Lindqvist's other novels, including Let the Right One In.

A thoughtful and terrifying collection of short stories, Her Body and Other Parties explores the realities womanhood and the violence inflicted on women in today's society. This critically acclaimed feminist anthology is ideal for fans of terrifying literary fiction.

View Full List

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Halifax Public Libraries